Wyoming Marijuana Laws and Penalties

Marijuana Laws

If you live in Wyoming and enjoy consuming marijuana for recreational or medicinal purposes, it is very important you understand the laws associated with this plant. While some states have enacted a medical marijuana program, Wyoming does not recognize this herb as a beneficial source for those who are sick. Below you will find the most current Wyoming marijuana laws and penalties associated with possession, cultivation and selling.

Marijuana Possession in Wyoming

This section of Wyoming law is broken into two parts, the first is being charged without having direct possession. If you are caught under the influence of marijuana or using marijuana, you will be charged with a misdemeanor. This offense is punishable by up to 90 days in jail and a maximum fine of $100. If you are caught with three ounces or less of marijuana, then you will also be charged with a misdemeanor; however, this charge carries a punishment by up to one year in jail and a maximum fine of $1,000. If you are caught with more than three ounces of marijuana, you will be charged with a felony offense, which is punishable by up to five years in prison and a maximum fine of $10,000.

If you are caught with marijuana within 500 feet of a school, then an additional $500 will be added onto your fine; however, as of 2010, there is no additional jail time for this type of offense.

Click here to read the news: 100 Wyoming Residents a Year Commit Suicide

Marijuana Cultivation in Wyoming

Cultivating marijuana, which is to grow marijuana, is not an incredibly serious offense within Wyoming. If you are caught cultivating, or growing, any amount of marijuana you will be charged with a misdemeanor offense. This offense is punishable by up to six months in jail and a maximum fine of $1,000.

Marijuana Sale in Wyoming

If you are caught selling any amount of marijuana within this state, then you will be charged with a felony offense. This offense is punishable by up to 10 years in prison and a maximum fine of $10,000. If you are caught selling any amount of marijuana to a minor, then you will also be charged with a felony offense, which carries double penalties for jail time as well as fine amount. Lastly, if you are caught selling marijuana within 500 feet of a school, you will be charged with a felony offense, which is punishable by a mandatory minimum sentence of two years in prison and a maximum fine of $1,000.

Click here to read about Wyoming marriage laws